First completed project of 2015!

Hello!

Is it really February already?? The holidays are already a blur… and that’s a very good thing. There have been so many family life-changing events in the past year, that it’s good to move forward into a NEW year/fresh start!

Speaking of the new year, we have already accomplished our FIRST little housekeeping project of 2015!!

10525820_829070310469556_2887097603584453897_n

Here you see the last bits of wall paper remnants in our house: the front entrance/foyer. The c. 1989 vinyl wall paper consisted of a border of a village of houses (already removed before I thought to take a photo) and a rather neutral calico ‘field’.  A very typical ‘country’ decor look back in the day??

10930090_826973337345920_988439789623954559_n

The stripping was a little bit easier with the help of a steamer, but still very labor intense!! Also, this little project took us a bit longer than anticipated (Murphy’s Law right?) because somewhere in-between, Dennis managed to fall off a ladder in the barn and dislocate his left shoulder!!!! Ouch!!! BTW, he is slowly recovering  (while I’m experiencing new aches & pains from doing his share of chores, ugh!). However, the removing, scrubbing and more scrubbing, small repair/patch and painting has been completed! YAY!

foyer

As an aside, while his shoulder was mending/immobile (and I was oh so patiently waiting), I managed to sneak in another small DIY project. I’ve been wanting to make-over this flea market side table for quite a while!

table re-do1

Here’s a BEFORE shot (after I lightly sanded the side table and remembered to take a photo). OOPS!

…and here’s an AFTER shot!

table re-do

 

I had purchased this side table a few years ago. I really love her clean lines, spindle legs and camphored drawer (and original knob). I was sooooo tempted to use some well-known milk paint (or chalk paint), but, decided to use what paint material I had in my paint cabinet. Sigh! I ended up using our local hardware black, satin enamel paint. ((I know you’re thinking, “What did you use black paint for???” Answer: The black & white striped flooring in the drying barn. )) I also painted a gray accent stripe on the legs and left the original drawer un-painted/as is. She sits beside my pie safe in the above photos.

And that’s that!

 

2 thoughts on “First completed project of 2015!

    • Nice!! That will be so much fun! I would have loved to experiment with MMS milk paint… but, I chose the inexpensive route. I also have an old icky dresser from my MIL that I use to store yarn that I want to paint. I can’t bring myself to pay more for the paint than the furniture is worth!? haha

      I would love to see your NEW wardrobe!! Best wishes!!

Leave a Reply

