There’s a baby in the house!

Yes! Quite literally, there are two newborn goat kids presently residing in a large tub in my laundry room! Cassiopeia (aka Cassie), one of my two dairy goats, kidded yesterday and presented us with a doeling [the first GIRL baby goat in three years/freshenings!! WOOHOO] and a buckling/boy!

Sunday, (around noon) Cassie displayed all the ‘textbook’ signs that birthing was near: 1) her vulva  became more swollen and less firm 2) her ligaments just above and to either side of her tail softened 3) she started “talking” to her stomach 4) she become sunken in the flanks as the kids move into position in the birth canal 5) she began to stand up, lay down, stand up, walk around, lay down, stand up, dig the floor, lay down, stand up… and finally 6) she developed a thick, stringy, long vaginal discharge announcing that she’s getting serious about having these kids.

Around 4 pm, Cassie began to ‘heave’. These ‘heaves’ or contractions repeat every few minutes and eventually a small balloon of reddish-brown liquid appeared outside her vulva. This is where [my emotions begin to swell] it gets exciting and the clock begins – take note of the time and duration of this stage of labor. With a few more heaves the bag of fluid may break or it may just get bigger and hang down to the floor. The contractions continue and I’m desperate to identify familiar body parts, ideally, a couple of tiny hooves inside the bag and a little nose… a normal birth position.

In a normal birth presentation, the goat is positioned head first, with its hooves outstretched.

NORMAL BIRTH PRESENTATION

It’s a gift to stand-idly by and allow nature to take it’s course…and, a greater blessing to KNOW when assistance is required! Since Katie and I could not recognize any hooves/nose/tongue, nor was any further progress being made by Cassie [through all her ‘heaving’] — WE agreed and decided it was time to glove-up and investigate/take a closer look!  That big blob was in fact a head, sideways. Thankfully, mercifully, I was able to hook/straighten one foot and then the other with my fingertips. The kid EXPLODED out of Cassie’s womb, into my lap, knocking me down and Cassie on top of me!  Now, I wish I had a picture of THAT!!! Praise God, for he is merciful!

sheepyhollow_doe_buck

Immediately following the doeling’s EXPULSION (left, 8 lbs.), we saw two tiny feet [in the correct birth position, YAY!] waiting his turn to meet & greet!! Almost an hour passed before Cassie finally had the strength/courage to push, uneventfully [phew!] her second kid out – a little buckling (right, 7 lbs.)!

sheepyhollow_cassie2013

Cassie earned a warm drink of molasses water and a restful night! I’m soooooo glad I only have two does!!! To all the large dairy farms, you folks have ALL my sincere respect!!!

9 thoughts on “There’s a baby in the house!

  1. Congratulations on the safe arrive of Cassie’s two kids!!! They are a sweet pair–have you named them yet? Or will you have a contest? Glad to hear all is well and the best to you, Cassie, and her babies. What a nice addition to the farm family!

    • Awww…thank you! Well, they’re really my daughter’s registered herd…so, she usually picks a theme every year. Katie suggested ‘Lord of the Ring’ characters, but we’re still thinking on it. 🙂

  2. Congrats again! Yes, I can do without kidding drama too. Just about the time your doe was kidding so was mine. I was expecting trouble from her, she’s a first freshener and she has been nothing but naughty for 2 years, but it was a normal delivery, for which I was very glad. I think I’m getting too old for this…

    • haha! well Chris, congrats to you (and your doe) also! I must agree, I’m getting too old for all this drama. I love my babies and goat milk for sure. Thankfully, my Katie has been my helper, but, next year she’ll be a freshman at college, and I can’t imagine her not being here to HELP!! My second doe is due April 27 – hopefully she’s have a text-book perfect delivery???!!!

  3. One of my does had triplets and the first came out breech. I was able to grab the back leg and slip it out and the kid just slid out. Two were does and a buck. I also give my does a warm drink of molasses water. Kindred Spirits

Leave a Reply

