Leaps and bounds…

yes… the lambs are growing by LEAPs and BOUNDs!  My small flock of Shetland lambs range in age now from 4-weeks to the ‘youngest’ at almost 3-weeks old. My ewe Reese’s Pieces was the last to lamb on cinco de mayo! Thankfully, after Katie and I returned home from Wolcott Farm’s Sheep Shearing Saturday.

Several weeks later, the lambs are rambunctious, becoming more independent and confident… to leave mama’s side…and enjoying some serious playtime, particularly in the early evening hours.

Several years ago, we dismantled our children’s play-fort and re-used/recycled the lumber to construct a playhouse for our goats AND this play ramp/platform for the sheepies. (I actually want to add a roof, kinda like a wood-covered bridge.) Big D just grins and rolls his eyes with all the ‘projects’ I dream-up!!!!

Group hug… (missing a few more lambs from the pic).

The challenge…

Hey…no fair! Two against one!

Hi-Ho Silver!!! Um…I think you better use the ramp!

Too much fun…building strong bodies!

The lambs and goat kids provide hours of cheap/free entertainment!

Besides playing with babies, I’ve been making cheese nearly daily to share with family and friends. I get the 6 a.m. morning milk, then the kids have mama ALL day. By 6 p.m., my does are mostly all milked-off by hungry boys!

…got goat milk??? I have yet to make any yogurt this spring and I would like to purchase some grains to make kefir, a first for me!

AND, still working working working in the veggie garden…amending the last of the beds with compost for the tomato, green pepper plants, potatoes and basil that will go in this weekend for sure!

Also, last summer’s back porch project has been resurrected…our self-made screens have been installed (YAY) and we purchased a ceiling fan to replace the wall-mounted light. I’m refinishing a table that I purchased at a barn sale last summer for the back porch too. Still undecided on additional seating…but, I’m on the look-out for potential candidates! Perhaps we’ll be able to enjoy the holiday weekend with el fresco dining!

My fiber art and so many other projects have taken a back-seat during the past few weeks (as I’ve been pre-occupied w/kidding, lambing and gardening!), but I hope to be posting some creative results with you in the very near future! Thanks for your patience!

Hope you enjoy a lovely Memorial Day weekend with family and friends! Play safe!

3 thoughts on “Leaps and bounds…

    • I knew my goats loved to play, climb, jump… and thought maybe the sheep would too! The lambs play like children on the playground and the ‘adult’ ewes mostly stand-by and supervise. It’s so much fun just to watch them, you can’t help but laugh out loud!

    • I knew my goats loved to play, climb, jump… and thought maybe the sheep would too! The lambs play like children on the playground and the ‘adult’ ewes mostly stand-by and supervise. It’s so much fun just to watch them, you can’t help but laugh-out-loud!

Leave a Reply

