the best kept secrets…

…are often discovered ‘off-the-beaten-path’ .

I complain (ahem, I mean ‘mention’ this to my hubby, the Big D, all-too-often…). It’s all about location, location, location! Well, sometimes. MY little farm shop is located on a dirt road, in the middle of nowhere in particular. I do very little marketing and rely on word-of-mouth from prior ‘happy’ customers. I also do a very limited number of fiber shows a year. I network primarily with fiber artists & gardeners. It’s becoming more difficult to do ALL the things that require getting done!! I am a perfectionist… and this adds to my frustration. It’s not difficult for me to THINK (DREAM) about new projects when I’m sitting around the house all day! hahaha

But, back to my story. Besides having a soft spot for anything furry, including my sweet little sheep and goats, I L.O.V.E. plants…strange & different plants and anything topiary-form too! Well, less than one-mile down the same dirt road from my house is the awesome greenhouse/farm of the Uhlianuk’s. The entire family has branched-off into their own specialty including twig furniture, heirloom plants & produce. My neighbors don’t advertise their greenhouses;  you’re more likely to  find them at a local upscale farmers’ markets.

I couldn’t help myself! I purchased this succulent Echeveria runyunii ‘Topsy Turvy’ for the beautiful blue-gray foliage!

Growing Conditions:

Light: Full sun. Perfect for a sunny window.
Water: Water during the summer and spring, making sure drainage is immaculate. Reduce water in the winter to monthly.
Temperature: Prefers average summer temps (65ºF – 70ºF). In winter, cool to 50ºF.
Soil: A well-drained succulent mix, with an ideal pH around 6.0 (slightly acidic).
Fertilizer: Feed with a controlled-release fertilizer in the beginning of the season or weekly with a weak liquid solution. Use a balanced 20-20-20 fertilizer at 1/4 strength on mature plants, and a fertilizer with less nitrogen on young plants.
Habit and Cultural Information
Category: Succulent
Family: Crassulaceae (Stonecrops)
Origin: Mexico (North America)
Evergreen: Yes
Flower Color: Yellow & Orange
Bloomtime: Summer
Height: <1 foot
Width: <1 foot
Exposure: Sun or Shade
Drought Tolerant: Yes
Irrigation (H2O Info): Medium Water Needs
Winter Hardiness: 25-30° F

Love this lavender topiary form too!!!!! ahhhhhh.

Like I said…I just couldn’t help myself!!! Hmmm? How about a late Mother’s Day gift to self!!??! YEAH!!! Shop LOCAL!!

4 thoughts on “the best kept secrets…

  1. Hi Jenny! Love those plants! Do they sell the twig furniture down the road from you? Do they sell to the public from the greenhouse by you? Thought I would visit your store and then visit their greenhouse next week! Fun!! Thanks, Denise

    • Hello Denise! The twig furniture, made by one of the family’s son, is not sold at the greenhouse. I’m sure you could inquire at the greenhouse for more info. They do sell to the public from the greenhouse…always happy to see visitors.

    • Hello! Their plants are atypical – not what you’d normally find in a nursery! I’ll check if they have a listed ‘house phone’ and message you privately. They ‘sell’ mostly at local farmers’ markets.

Leave a Reply

