Ready to PAR-tee!

I’ve been fuss’n over a needle felted sheepie ~ a no-sew fiber project! She’s a real cutie *** my sheepies are usually a bit more primitive *** but, I couldn’t help myself…she makes me smile!

She’s all decked out for All Hallow’s Eve!

She can’t decide…whether to wear the pumpkin…

…or go completely ‘batty’??

HOW-TO:

You’ll need natural (white) wool roving or batt, felting needle, foam (to protect surface from felting needle), recycled wool/felt for ears & tail (or you could needle felt them), 2 black beads for eyes (you could needle felt the eyes), wood skewers for legs – painted black, but you could needle felt the legs too. AND whatever ‘accessories’ to embellish your sheepie.

I began by needle felting a rather large oval head (compared to the body), poking over and over a hunk of wool until quite dense. Then repeat and needle felt a body. Place head and body in position, and with a little whisp of wool roving, lightly wrap around head/body & begin to needle felt to attach both pieces together. Add more wool as you go until firmly connected!

Viola! Done! OOPS! Did I mention you may need bandages…in case you poke yourself!???

LEGS: Cut a wooden skewer into four 1/2-inch lengths for the legs; I painted them black with acrylic paint.  Position the legs in the ‘body’ (HINT: Drill a little hole first with a sharp object to insert the legs a bit easier and dab with a pinch of fabric glue.). Needle felt a bit of wool around each leg to tidy up! OR, needle felt four little legs and attach to body the same way you attached the head.

EARS/TAIL: I snipped a bit of wool and attached them, but you could also needle felt little ears and a tail.

I needle felted a bit of black wool roving onto the sheep’s face and sewed black beads on for the eyes, using white thread (uh oh…I said ‘no-sew’ project!). BUT, you could needle felt eyes and a nose/mouth too!

Now comes the fun part… your imagination hath no limit! I made a witch’s hat with a bit of card stock that I cut, rolled and glued, painted black and glued halloweenee-type ribbon to cover it. I also used a pipe-cleaner for the rim and needle felted a black pom-pom for the top of the hat. BUT, you could make a more traditional witch’s hat, wide brim ‘n all, cover it with a decorative tissue paper/gift wrap, or even needle felt a hat! Use scrap bulky yarn for the rim, etc.

The mini-pumpkin and bat ‘accessories’ are made with a low bake resin clay, shaped free-hand, painted and strung onto a bit of novelty yarn. HINT: Don’t forget to make a hole in your ‘bead’. BUT, you could attach a little trick or treat bag, a little cape or witch’s broom…candy corn necklace, and so on??!! See what I mean…endless possibilities. ALL one-of-a-kind! And YOU get to decide!!!

I almost forgot, for reference, my little sheepy measures approx. 2-1/2 inches tall by about 2-1/4 inches wide. She just may end up in my ETSY shop…

 

 

4 thoughts on “Ready to PAR-tee!

  1. I am definitely going to try to felt these adorable sheep. I’m going on a scrap booking retreat next weekend and wouldn’t it be too cute if I was to make each lady a cute “Sheepy Hollow” inspired gift?!

    I hope it looks as uniform as yours!

Leave a Reply

