Barn Sale Find

A couple of weeks ago I stopped at a barn sale. Not so much to shop, but to peek inside old barns. I love barns! Not so much the metal pole barn-type that I have… but, a REAL barn.

I found an inexpensive – not very old – cupboard. I thought it might be used for ‘a prop’ for displaying my items during a few shows/fiber events I participate in through the year (and later for storage in my farm shop).

…and the price was right. Only $5.

I wish I had taken a ‘before’ picture. ~~~There was a resident mouse living in the bottom shelf! ~~~  I cleaned & scrubbed it, removing all the hardware. Then I sanded the entire piece. I put on one coat of off-white satin latex paint. After it was dry, I sanded it again to distress the cupboard just a bit. The top center drawer is missing, but that’s ok.

  

I stained the top a dark walnut and applied a coat of tinted wax. Good enough to haul around to shows, ya think?

6 thoughts on “Barn Sale Find

  1. Wow…what a deal!! This would be spectacular to display items on, in, and hanging out of. Imagine how much it would cost to build a display cabinet like this. You definitely hit the deal of the month!

    Love reading your blog and looking at your wares. Goats and sheep are just too cool. Makes me wish that I had some more space… *sigh* But thanks to the blogosphere, I get to enjoy them through your posts! 🙂

  2. Your “new” cupboard is a beauty!!!! You did a fantastic job on refurbishing it. It will look fantastic with your handcrafted wares on display.

  3. It’s wonderful-& it will look so great with all of your woolies displayed!Wish I could come to one of your fiber festivals…..maybe someday.

Leave a Reply

