My ‘Grain Sack’ Flea Market Find

A week or so ago, I shared my ‘faux’ grain sack foot stool make-over. Since my household budget won’t allow the extravagance of the real deal (antique grain sacks range $50 and upward), that is, one with graphics, stripes, embroidered initials, made with linen or hemp…I decided to fake my grain sack’s appearance (and used a heavy cotton duck which I painted with stripes/graphics).

Well, this weekend I visited my local flea market and found my $3 antique grain sacks – yes, that’s $3 total (or $1.50 each)!?

After a pre-soak and twice through the wash cycle, here’s what they look like. They ain’t pretty; they are ‘worn’ and have a couple of repairs and a few tatters/holes over the course of its hard-working years.

A true piece of Americana dating from the late 19th Century ~ early 1900’s.  The Royal River Seamless grain bag with its logo in faded blue was made in the area of Yarmouth, Me on the Royal River. 

It is a cotton bag of a coarse weave.  Logo in the center on front with a band of stripes on either side both front and back.

This one is in better condition than the other…and has blue/red stripes.

But, I really love the eagle graphic on this one, despite its poor condition.

S.W.E.E.T!

And it has mustard and blue stripes…

I think I may be able to make four pillows from these vintage grain sacks!

Last, I came home with one more treasure…

Another little fuzzy lion head bunny whom Katie named ‘Dom’.

2 thoughts on “My ‘Grain Sack’ Flea Market Find

Leave a Reply

