The Waiting Game

Today I moved Schaherezade into the kidding stall with Annie. Schaz is 5-days past her ‘average’ estimated due date. The ‘normal’ goat gestation period is  anywhere from 145 -155 days, with 150 days average. But, who says ‘average’ enters anywhere into the equation?

Signs of labor are highly variable amongst goats. Some goats may exhibit all signs, and then again, some does exhibit only a few. You become more experienced with sign recognition the more kiddings you experience…and the longer you’re around your goats! Signs of labor include: ligaments around the tail bone soften (to completely gone), udder fills, discharge from vulva, doe seeks solitude, acts restless, paws the ground, doe makes quiet baaing sounds, some go-off grain ration right before kidding.

When the time is right, the babies will come. So, I’ve been playing the waiting game…

I’ve been cleaning-up and surveying my herb garden…considering what I’ll plant, re-organize or the changes I’ll make? My garden is only a few steps from the barn, so I’d rather be working nearby… and I don’t have to put my coveralls on & off again a bazillion times…since the weather is hardly cooperating!!! I may as well keep busy – outside!

I’m trying to keep busy and keep my fussing to a minimum with little mindless projects…

Like these soon to be lamb pendants. A cute little embellishment for Easter?

And a few sheepy price tags for items in the shop.

I’ve had this bumpy sheep wash cloth pattern for a while…but no ‘white’ cotton yarn. Oh well, perhaps I’ll pair it with my handmade lavender soap.

What’s one more knitted/felted cell phone case?

Hmmm…and some winter pesto for dinner.

We L-O-V-E fresh basil in the garden…and harvest it fresh all summer long, freezing lots for later use during winter! It’s delish with crumbled sweet/mild Italian sausage, tomatoes (also frozen from the garden) and my goat feta!  My daughter prefers pesto over a traditional spaghetti sauce.

How-To:

During the summer, when harvesting basil by the bushel-full, I pick basil early after the morning dew has evaporated. Wash if needed and remove all the leaves from the stems (stems go to the chickens or into the compost). I then place all the fresh leaves into my food processor and add a little virgin olive oil – just enough to make a paste (you could use some water, but I prefer olive oil). I may add a few cloves of garlic. I usually don’t add pine nuts, cuz it’s not something that’s normally in my pantry. I transfer each batch of basil puree into a recycled/reused plastic butter tub and label for the freezer. I also freeze many ice-cube trays, pop them out and store/label in a freezer bag – these are nice for soups and stews. Each cube is approx 1 tablespoon.

To make the basil ‘pesto pasta’, I remove Italian sausage from its casing and brown it in a large dutch oven, along with a large minced onion and a few cloves of garlic. Once the meat is browned, I’ll add garden fresh cherry tomatoes – or tomatoes from my freezer and simmer on low. Add the fresh-like basil ‘pesto’ from the freezer (about 1 to 1-1/2 cups). Don’t add salt & pepper ’til the very end, because the sausage is very spicy! I like to cook about a pound of linguine pasta and add it to the ‘sauce’ along with my goat feta cheese. I’ve added cherve also…just makes a creamier sauce. Garnish with fresh Parmigiano. Serve with garlic toast and a fresh green salad. Yum!

I’d better check on Schaz!

 ♥blessings!

4 thoughts on “The Waiting Game

  1. LOL! She kidded shortly after I posted this…Schaz had twin BUCKs at 10:45 & 11:15 today! I’ll post pics tomorrow. All are doing well. One more to go; Corey is due on the 15th.

  2. Hi.. I have just found your blog and find it sooo interesting. I, too love and freeze pesto. Can’t wait to get it growing again but we still have snow for a bit longer…
    Your cell phone cover is so sweet as are your price tags.. I am always trying to find new price tag ideas.. Lovely..

    • So nice to meet you! I got the Martha Stewart sheepy ‘punch’ at Michael’s. I’m dreaming of gardening too, but Spring hasn’t arrived here in Michigan yet either! I also visited your blog…and I think I’m going to make your laundry soap. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

