Bubble and Squeak

No, it’s not the name(s) of my goats, nor is it an herbal concoction…it’s what’s for dinner! 

Today is going to be a busy day, spinning, a few must-do errands and Katie’s dentist appointment after school (at 5 p.m. actually). So, when do you squeeze in supper?

On days like today, I prefer a simple cook-ahead, one-pot-meal when there’s actually little time to fuss over the stove. Since it’s still quite winter-y, I thought of this recipe, Henry Ford’s Birthplace Bubble and Squeak… from my Henry Ford Museum & Greenfield Village ‘Taste of History Recipe Collection’, inspired by the Summer Festival event of 1997.   

New England may have their Old Sturbridge Village and Virginia has their Colonial Williamsburg, but we in Michigan have our beloved Greenfield Village! Back in the day, hubby and I both worked about 5-minutes from this historic site in Dearborn (Ford Country!), Michigan. We often (if not daily) visited the Village with brown-bag lunch in hand! Hubby loves history…and there was always something wonderful going on at the Village & Museum. I really like Spring Planting and Fall Harvest Days…and all the historic events in-between!

My recipe collection consists of 8 historic site cards with background info on the people and the time period, plus 20 recipe cards which features a variety of foods from these sites. I had purchased them as a ‘souvenir’ from the Taste of History event which we attended. Huge circus-type tents were set-upon on the lawn at the Village with many different tasting stations available (for a small fee) to taste the recipes/food prepared which their ancestors ate. How fun!  

The Bubble and Squeak is actually a veggie side-dish, which I’ve modified to accommodate my meat-‘N-potatoes hubby!

RECIPE:

1/2 C butter

1/2 C bacon, cut into 1-inch pieces

1 finely shredded cabbage (approx 8-cups)

4 large potatoes, peeled & sliced

1 C water or stock

Salt & pepper to taste

NOTE: I add smoked sausage/kielbasa, sliced… and about a tsp of winter savory from my herb pantry/garden.

HOW-TO: Melt butter in heavy kettle; bring to high heat and partially cook bacon. Add shredded cabbage, sliced potatoes (sausage if desired) and salt, pepper to taste. Add water or stock and bring to a boil, then cover and simmer on low heat for 40-minutes stirring occasionally.

Approx 40-minutes later…

I like to serve this one-pot ‘meal’ with a loaf of home-baked (made in my bread machine) honey grain bread! Yum!

I love the smell of bread baking!

Even when it comes from my bread machine!

♥blessings!

Leave a Reply

