A New Year ~ A Blank Canvas

I look forward to January-February-March every year.The gardens are put to bed for the winter, the dairy goats and sheep (for the most part) have been bred and we’re beyond the hustle and bustle of the holidays. I actually enjoy the opportunity to CLEAN house and organize… or better yet, to simplify! 

It’s also the time of year when we focus our attention to any indoor projects. We hope to re-do our 1/2 bath in the next few weeks. The ‘sweating’ toilet has actually caused the linoleum to discolor and the sub-floor to ‘rot’ (???). So, we’re gonna make repairs, remove the old wallpaper, re-paint and install a new vanity and floor covering.

My farm shop is now closed (except by appointment and perhaps an occasional  sunny weekend). I direct most of my efforts to my on-line ETSY shop. I especially enjoy these next few months as a time to re-charge my batteries and get the creative juices flowing!

The past few days I’ve been knitting/felting a few little bowls ~ for storing this-n-that ~ using bits of yarn from projects here and there that are now waiting to be embellished with sheepies and perhaps lots of hearts for Valentine’s Day?

Another project I’ve been in the process of creating is my sheep bottle-topper…a ‘lil sweet decor to embellish a gifted bottle of wine or herb vinegar/herb oil…for a special friend, knitter, fiber friend or sheep-lover? It knits up quickly with a bit of yarn in any color. I intend to knit-up a whole flock. This is my proto-type and I’m already ‘tweeking’ and making revisions!

What ‘ya think?

Cute?

Why is it always about sheep? hee hee

Never too many sheep, I’d say!

I hope to list a few of these guys in my ETSY shop soon! My son suggested I knit the next one with green yarn so she’s standing in the meadow…

Happy fiber’n!

2 thoughts on “A New Year ~ A Blank Canvas

  1. Happy New Year!
    I’d love one with a green meadow bottom! Hey,let me know when you get ready to list it or mark it reserved for Lora-I really wish I could come visit…oooh-maybe some day I’ll take a vacation & come to Michigan.Thank you for sharing your herb lore & creature stories with us-hugs & blessings to you!

    • Hi Lora, Happy New Year! I’m still fussing a bit w/the ‘pattern’…to get it just right. I’ll let you know when I’m pleased with the results and ready to sell them. Won’t be too much longer. I should be taking down the Xmas decorations and cleaning house, but these ‘lil’ sheepies are too much fun!

Leave a Reply

