Winter Wonderland

I think, as we sit snug in the warmth of our home, you would agree with me that the recent snow storm has left us with an amazing winter wonderland! This is the view from my kitchen window…snowy indeed! But, I worry about the north wind and frightfully sub-zero temps that it brings…and the safety of family – and those that have lost power – and my barnyard menagery!

So, I’ve been replacing frozen water buckets regularly – UGH – and feeding more hay than usual.  Speaking of hay, I like my goats’ hay feeder (it really helps to minimize waste)…

…except when the goat kids (that’s Cassiopeia who is sure that the hay tastes better from the inside rather than the outside!) crawl through the slats. Cassi’s  sister, Orion (she’s standing on the right) has never crawled into the feeder!!! I don’t want hubby to re-adjust the slats any closer . The idea is for the big girl’s heads to fit through into the trough. So, I lock the youngins in a stall to eat their hay in a plastic hang-type wall feeder while the big girls finish their hay ration – before I let the kids out to re-join the herd. A few more weeks of growth and I don’t think Cassi will manage to sQuEeZe thru the slats!

Since there’s been no school, my daughter and I did a little Xmas shopping, but my fresh-cut tree still sits in a bucket of water in the garage! I’m so glad hubby decided last minute to cancel his business trip to Toronto the other day…he could have been one of those folks stuck/rescued on the 402! Yikes!

The sun is shining and that makes a BIG difference in my mind. Today I think I’ll bake Janine’s Rosemary Sea Salt Shortbread from The Rustic Kitchen. (There’s a link to her site/blog on my sidebar.)

Janine’s Rosemary Sea Salt Shortbread
Makes 16 triangles

½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
¼ cup sugar
1 teaspoon coarse sea salt, plus extra for sprinkling
2 tablespoons minced fresh rosemary, plus extra for sprinkling
1 cup all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Stir together butter, sugar and salt, then stir in rosemary. Mix in half the flour, then add remaining flour and combine. The dough may become stiff, so be patient. Press into an 8-inch square pan, then sprinkle with a little extra rosemary and salt for a pretty top. Use fork to pierce dough at 1-inch intervals. Bake until lightly golden around the edges, about 30 minutes. Remove from oven and immediately cut into triangles. Cool for about five minutes, then promptly remove shortbread from pan using offset spatula or fork.

The recipe is easy, peasy and really deeeelicious!!! And the kitchen smells heavenly while it’s baking in the oven! IDEA: Package some in cellophane and place it in an old tin. WOW! I know I would love a home-baked gift!

 

I still have ‘huge’ fresh rosemary plants in the shop that I transplanted from my garden…they won’t survive a deep freeze outside in the garden here, but prefer cooler temps than the typical ‘indoors’ heated house.

Rosemary for Sale!

Did you know…that rosemary and lavender are from the same botanical family… LABIATAE? BTW, my goats L-O-V-E rosemary too! YUM!

Also on the to-do list today, I hope I can sit and spin awhile too. I broke my driveband the last time I took my wheel for a spin. According to Schacht, I could replace my driveband with a soft cotton cord about 1/16-inch (an eight or ten-ply butcher or package twine) which I just purchased at my faithful local Ace Hardware in town. No need to run to the yarn shop – and be tempted to buy some MORE yummy yarn. You wouldn’t believe my yarn/fiber stash!!!

Leave a Reply

