And the winner is…

…Schaherezade for Best Udder (oh ya, that’s me),

Sweet Annie took second place, Alpine Dairy Yearling,

Katie with Schaz in 4-H Senior Showmanship line-up, and…

Schaz and Katie in First Place, 4-H ‘Fun’ Costume Class – such a GOOD sport!

Here’s Coriander – waiting her turn – (yoo hoo, wake up Corie!) with Matt, my portable stanchion! Corie took first place in Oberhasli Dairy Yearling.

All in all, it was a VERY looooong day – and Fair week! The goats all did well in the show ring. The ‘Fair-goers’ all thought Brutus, my Pygora, was a sheep. His fleece is full of VM from close quarters (two goats to a pen); I’ve never seen him soooo dirty! Boo hoo! I’ll be shearing him in September, some time sooner than later. And two of my yearlings came home with sniffles! Ugh! I really don’t like taking my sweet critters to the Fair…

We had a nice Church service for my dad’s funeral and we’re hoping to bury his ashes at a veteran’s cemetery (he served in the Army/Air Force) in Holly, MI. We’ve submitted the necessary ‘paperwork’ for approval.

On the home front, I’ve been working triple time to catch up with the overflowing bounty of veggies in the garden, especially tomatoes, green peppers and green beans, oh my! Been back to the routine of weed’n a garden a day – does my soul good! My goodness, how quickly the gardens get out of control!!! Also making more cheese DAILY. Feta freezes well, I’m told. 

Next up, Mt. Bruce Station Sheep & Wool Festival end of September. I’ve been trying to work on a few fiber projects to re-build my inventory??

Here’s a hand-dyed felted WOOL sheepy table runner/wall hanging?

And, another sheepy pillow, made from a re-cycled cabled sweater.

So much to do and so little time… seems to be the norm around here. Back to the grindstone! LOL

One thought on “And the winner is…

  1. You have some lovely goats & sheep! I love the fair pictures, I always have a hard time getting good ones of my girls when they’re showing since everyone is always “moving” 🙂 Great blog!!

Leave a Reply

