Countdown to Fair…

Only three days ’til the Armada Agricultural Fair! It runs Monday Aug 16 thru Sunday Aug 22. The pic is Katie in the forefront with our Alpine, Holly at Fair last year. Katie will be taking four of her goats: Schaherezade (probably the only 4-H’er Dairy goat that’s in milk, two yearlings, Sweet Annie and Coriander and Brutus (our Pygora). This Saturday we decorate the goat barn/goat pens. Sunday is 4-H judging for all the 4-H ‘still’ projects; Wednesday Aug 18 is the scheduled 4-H and Open Class goat show. Locavores can learn more at www.armadafair.org . There’s still much to do, but I can see a faint glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel. Please, my shop will likely be closed during fair week, so, best to call ahead. You can catch me at the Fair, hang’n around the goat pavilion and sheep barn.

Speaking of sheep, Katie decided to leave her sheepies at home…bummer! And after all that work!? We’re still going to decorate the sheep barn with educational fiber-related stuff – educate the city-slickers, ahem, I mean the public. Can you believe we DO NOT have a 4-H fiber sheep class?! Plenty of market lambs, but no fiber sheep! That would take a long term committment by the kids I guess.  

I wanted to show you a peek at MY fair entry in the ‘professional’ (cuz I sell my sheepy fiber stuff) folk art/felting category…

It’s made with my own sheep’s wool (Corriedale and Shetland)…all hand felted. The sheep are needle felted. It measures 32 inches wide by 36 inches long. I thought it could be used as a small throw/blanket or wall hanging? Or, I thought perhaps a banner for my business when I’m doing a show? But, I’ll probably offer it for sale in the end.

Here’s another view. I’m not the best photographer! LOL

I’ve made a few of these hand-felted sheepy ‘bits’ too. Here’s one I grabbed for a pic. I made all different sheepy sizes, color and shapes. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with them? Perhaps sell them as is, but wouldn’t they be grand all pieced together?

 

On a personal note, sadly, my dad passed away yesterday. I’ve mentioned him/my parents from time to time and my weekly visits ‘to help’ them at thier home. My dad would have been 87 years old this December. I’m sure he’s watching me from heaven! Sleep tight, D.O.D.!

I found this pic in my shoebox archives…from feft to right, my mom (a war bride from Vienna, Austria) and dad, older sister Elizabeth, (I’m #2 daughter, directly below Elizabeth), my baby twin brothers, Henry (my dad’s namesake) and John (after my mom’s dad)…I think that’s right… and my younger sister Mary on the far right. Mary has been providing the majority of care and oversight for my dad’s health over this past year —  when his health actually declined AFTER his total knee replacement a year ago this past May! I miss you dad!

7 thoughts on “Countdown to Fair…

  1. I was thinking of you this morn and went to check out your site to see what you are up to. I am so sorry to hear of the passing of your dear dad. The photo you posted is lovely, what a beautiful family. It’s never easy to loose a parent no matter how old they are. My father passed away at age 86. My thoughts and prayers are with you.
    Blessings
    Carole

  2. We like your website and the old picture! We have got the same picture here in Vienna! How time has passed! Liebe Grüße aus Österreich!

    • Hello across the pond! We are all fine – adjusting. I continue to visit Mom on Monday, Hank stops daily for lunch and John visits Tues morn before work. Mary also visits regularly after work and brings her groceries. XXOO to all!

Leave a Reply

