Moon Garden

Many of my gardens are centered around themes. Today, I thought I’d share one of them…my ‘Moon’ (or white) Garden. Moon gardens are particularly enjoyable at night. It was created to disguise our well head (see the pipe that’s pictured in the center). Yes, in the ‘country’ we have well water – NO access to a municipal water supply.

My Moon Garden consists of an inner and outer circle; most plants have star-shaped or white flowers or foliage to best reflect the moonlight, fragrant – great for evening entertaining? The iron piece in the center is a folk-y half-moon and stars constructed of steel plate and rods…virtually indistructable!

The ‘path’ is lined with crushed oyster shells – also white. HINT: It’s a calcium supplement for chickens available at the feed supply. We borrowed the idea of using oyster shell when we visited Colonial Williamsburg many years ago. Since oysters (along with other shellfish) was a dietary staple and in large supply on the east coast, frugal colonists used crushed shells as a sort of ‘paving’ material. Pretty nifty!

Also important in a garden – seating – a bench of some sort? You don’t think I actually ever SIT in it???

A few plants in my moon garden are: lamb’s ears, lavender, cone flower, artemisia silver king (which I’m in the process of replacing), snow in summer, germander, lychnis or rose campion, baby’s breath, globe amaranth, monarda. The silver king is a very nice perennial, drought tolerant, fragrant, dries well for wreath-making, but, weeds infiltrated it’s ‘bed’ (after 20-years) and it was simply easier to ‘re-do’ that section than to pull weeds! EEK!

I’ll probably replace it with rose campion/lychnis, an old-tyme cottage garden favorite.

Plants must meet several criteria to ‘reside’ in my garden: If I can’t EAT it, then it must be drought tolerant (since I don’t spend ANY time watering), heirloom, self-seed or perennial, native or hardy.

BTW, wanted to mention that it’s time to harvest lavender. The lavender buds have swelled and a bloom or two is evident. If you wait ’til all the buds bloom, it will fall off the stems as the lavender is drying. Harvest in the a.m. after the dew has dried. Air dry lavender in small bundles secured with a rubber band hanging from a peg, drying rack, etc (or the back of a chair) or lay fresh-cut stems on an old screen – out of direct sunlight – where there’s good air circulation.

Here’s a few of my volunteer clean-up crew…anxiously awaiting a hand-out of their morning ‘greens’. Never enough comfry, mint, lady’s mantle, rosemary and such. YUM! Don’t worry, the goats share the goodies with the sheepies too!

On a happy note (I guess), my bucklings and Tinkerbell’s twin ewe lambs will be moving to their new home this weekend at The Lamb’s Tail. More on that later…

WOW…where did the time go?!!!!

6 thoughts on “Moon Garden

  1. Jenny – I’m rereading your lavender posts because I forget how to prune… anyway I saw that you feed your goats and sheep some herbs. What ones are safe for them (or what ones aren’t safe if that list is shorter)? Thanks!

    • Hi Kim! Usually when I’m working/tidying up the garden (often a few goats are right along side me), any ‘clippings’ (mostly culinary herbs), are gathered and fed to my goats. I seldom have vegetable waste that goes into the compost anymore! Since goats are browsers, they prefer a nice fresh salad with a variety of greens. They won’t eat anything they don’t like…some are picky-eaters. They prefer rosemary, parsley, COMFRY, beet tops, strawberry tops, evergreens, willow, lavender. Rhubarb leaves, yews are a no-no!!! My sheep don’t care much for ‘greens’ but they may nibble a bit. They prefer to sleep upon all the lavender clippings…ah, smells good. I have a booklet on pasture plants toxic to livestock in MI from my MSU Extension Office. I’ll pull it out and take a look.

    • Hello Cene!

      Thanks for visiting! Goats are certainly more environmental ‘friendly’ and full of love and personality!! Just remember, goats are browsers and sheep are grazers… for the most part!

      Happy Day!

Leave a Reply

