Drama Drama Drama

Lots of DRAMA going on at the farm the past few days! I’ll start with the newest barnyard additions.

Welcome to Nelly’s (my dairy Oberhasli goat) twin doelings (Oberhasli X Alpine) who were born Wednesday around 6 p.m. They weighed in at 7 and 8 pounds. I’ve decided to pull the kids from mom and bottle feed/raise the doelings. They’re given a bottle every 4-hours to start for a few days…so everything’s gone a bit fuzzy.

   

The doelings have ‘typical’ Oberhasli markings…but the doeling on the right has more black and a splash of white on the forehead and abdomen. The doeling on the left has a very light tan/saffron abdomen extending to her rear flank – definite Alpine (their sire’s) markings. 

Normally, after kidding you watch for the baby goat to nurse the dam’s colostrum and to pass the meconium, baby’s first black tarry sticky poop. Baby goats need to poop within hours or less after birth. When, if for what ever reason they are not being stimulated by their mom’s licking baby’s butt to stimulate it, passing the meconium and then the normal yellow poop they poop for the first few days thereafter, the kid’s belly can get too full of milk and make the baby sick enough to die.

One doeling was pooping fine…but, I began to worry about the other doeling after no sign of pooping 24-hours later. So, I ‘googled’ baby kid goats pooping and found that it wouldn’t hurt to give my baby goat an enema? In fact, may even help to save her life?!!!! Yikes! To give a baby goat enema, use whatever you have (I used a hair color bottle dispenser) that has a tip on it and hold some warm soapy water. Insert the tip gently and only just into the rectum (with Vasoline on it for easy insertion) and hold baby across your lap (I was sitting on an over-turned bucket) and baby feet hanging in a large tub (for mucking out stalls). Squirt a small amount of the warm soapy water into the rectum – wait. Water will shoot out followed by poop. If no poop do it again. It may take 5-10-15 times.. allowing the water to shoot out and hopefully poop too before adding more warm soapy water. This may take 30 minutes to an hour or more. I did it in the tub so I can see the amount of poop and what it looks like… tubs clean out easily.

Well, it only took a few squirts of warm soapy water before everything came squirting out…meconium, yellow baby poop. On-lookers should keep out of firing range! This experience gave a whole new meaning to ‘FULL OF CRAP’!

As you know, my goaties enjoy competing with my sheepies. Dahlia also HAD to lamb the same time as Nelly, just in opposite barns. Welcome Dahlia’s ewe lamb and ram lamb weighing in at 6-pounds. Ya did real good Dahlia – lambing completely unassisted.

This is Dahlia’s little ewe (girl) Shetland lamb… 

…and Dahlia’s ram (boy) lamb. Very cool markings; they’ll be up for adoption soon!

One last bit of drama to share with you regarding my 6-week old Shetland HST ram lamb, Porthos. He got into a bit of trouble (???) and injured – basically tore off his right horn at the base. His blood-covered face almost gave me a heart attack when I discovered him last night. Hubby stayed home from work and we took him to the vet. Doc snipped the horn off (kind of like a fingernail – but it was hollow inside). The horn bud is still in tact; hopefully it will heal nicely and grow back. Don’t worry Porthos, girls love scars!

 

Well, that’s enough DRAMA for me for a while, ‘ya think? I gotta feed the kids a bottle. One more ewe to lamb in June…if she settled…and we’re done with the babies.

Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Drama Drama Drama

  1. Congratulations. What beautiful kids and lambs! Poor Porthos. What a couple of days! No sleep and formula/milk in your hair; ah, but who cares? It’s the best of times, fresh air, clean rain and new little animals. The best. Love that black ram lamb. Too cute. Looks like my S’more lambie. (-:

    • Porthos is doing well and his horn bud appears to be healing. He would sit in my lap (as do all my lambies) before this ‘ordeal’. I’m afraid I’ll need to win his confidence back. Many say DON’t get too friendly with a ram! I can’t help myself! I lay ‘camel-backed’ in the pasture and all my lambs jump on my back and nibble at my ears! I know I’m nuts, I’m a bit sleep-less, but I do love ALL of it.

Leave a Reply

