{wasted space}

That’s what I told my hubby about the remaining ‘unimproved’ space (consisting of  dirt floor and all) tn the back barn. I viewed it as a potential birthing stall or ‘jug’ to temporarily shelter pregnant ewes during lambing. It would save me the moving of my sheepies back and forth to the horse barn where I currently have additional empty stalls. So, while it took hubby about two weeks to re-organize and clear out the accumulated STUFF, I now have another ‘box’ stall in which to manuever critters as needed! Yippi! (What ever happened to lambing in the field au natural?) We plan on screening off the exterior/front facade from the rest of the barn area so those inquisitive goaties don’t get into trouble! I’m also looking into purchasing a PORTABLE pen/stall dividers or panels that I can also use at shows/fiber festivals. It would come in handy as a holding pen when my 4-H kids bring their goats to work on show maneuvers. If you know of any resources or have suggestions, pls leave me a comment.

 

I have two doors/possible entries into the stall which is a nice feature too.

Repair or replace???? Well, I finally did it. Last Saturday my new GE electric stainless steel, glass top stove was delivered. I couldn’t justify the additional cost of a GE Profile range (to match my microwave/convection oven) but, if my new stove lasts another 21-years… like my Magic Chef…I’ll be very happy! As you can imagine, I’ve been cooking and baking up a storm! Well, my 21-year old refrigerator is still operational – woohoo – but, you know I’ll get SS when the time comes.

Gardening update. There’s hints of Spring in the air like buds forming on the magnolia and snow drops in full bloom. I can’t believe I was out in the garden earlier this week and planted a few rows of mixed salad green, spinach, green onions/scallions and radish… that’s the beauty of raised beds! They are workable earlier in the growing season. But, it doesn’t help when there are snow flurries folks!!!! Now, if I were thinking, I should have planted seeds in flats and put them in the cold frame. However, last summer, my son removed the doors ~~~ which were made from salvaged glass farm windows ~~~ in case the rambunctious goat kids climbed on top of them ~~~ when out ‘playing’ in the garden with me.

Speaking of goat kid/lamb hazards…please, a word of warning during this kidding/lambing season! A ‘friend’ of mine had a heartbreaking accident and lost a lamb who got tangled in a home-made twine hay feeder. A twine hay feeder (we use similar nylon hay feeders when traveling for feeding horse hay too) is a potential choking hazard for small kids and lambs – adult goats & sheep too!

Also, be mindful of the water bucket for potential drowning accidents too! If they fall in and can’t get out…

Tough lesson learned…such is life ‘down on the farm’.

Leave a Reply

