Goat-Shaped Brown Sugar Cookies

Time flies when you’re having fun… another busy weekend! Somehow we managed to start and finish painting Matt’s room, celebrate my mom’s birthday, bake her a carrot cake, conduct a 4-H goat project meeting, bake ‘goat-shaped’ (why not?) Valentine’s treats for my goat kids and attend a fiber class at my favorite yarn shop, Heritage Spinning and Weaving. Whew!!!

I’ve been deep cleaning, polishing, waxing, shopping for new bed linens, and putting together a much more sophisticated ‘young man’s’ room! Still with a primitive Shaker flair of course…since my son’s bed, 5-drawer chest and blanket chest are all Shaker. My husband suggested a large IRON MAN framed poster/picture for the wall! The paint color selection was left for me to choose – a nice ACE Hardware, Celtic Sage. I really like it, but should have saved it for MY bedroom?!

Back to the goat-shaped Brown Sugar Cookie Recipe. It’s a simple sugar cookie recipe that you can alter easily enough depending on a few ingredients/flavoring. It’s simple to roll-out and cut with cookie cutters; I often use this recipe when I make ice cream sandwiches/cookies. I purchased my goat-shaped cookie cutter at www.thecookiecuttershop.com

You’ll need:

3 eggs well beaten

2 cups brown sugar

1/2 cup Crisco

1/2 cup margarine

1 tsp. baking soda + 1 Tbsp. boiling water , add 1 or 2 drops of apple cider vinegar

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. vanilla (- OR –  1/4 cup cocoa + 1 tsp. cinnamon)

5 cups flour

Roll out and cut into shapes. Decorate with sugar or frosting as desired.

Bake at 350 degree F about 10 – 12 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Goat-Shaped Brown Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

