A Special Valentine’s Dessert

Matt was home for the weekend…I know this because I did 5 loads of his laundry. lol

Since he was home, and we were all together, we decided to pull-ahead our special St. Valentine’s dinner. Every year since my kids were toddlers, we have prepared a fun Valentine’s dinner. Everything heart-shaped, pink or red, little tokens of affection ~ just silly things, but my grown kids still enjoy this family tradition and have come to expect it.

Meatloaf is comfort food at my table so,

…heart-shaped meatloaf along with ‘pink’ mashed potatoes, heart-shaped sliced beats (which Katie cut-out with a mini cookie cutter), heart-shaped biscuits, pink/red beverage of choice, etc. I’m sure you can think of a few of your family’s favorites and start your own little St. Valentine’s tradition? I even pulled out some of the hand-made Valentine place-mats the kids made years ago. I know, I’m such a sentimental slob!

But, for dessert, we tried something new ~ Coeur a la Creme.

I found the recipe for Coeur a la Creme (which translates to ‘Heart of the Cream’ in French) on Ricki’s Cheesemaking website. Basically it’s Fromage Blanc cheese with a little sugar and egg whites folded into the cheese. You can also buy the heart-shaped cheese molds on her site, but I think you can use any heart-shaped (economical) mold. It’s important to line the ‘mold’ with cheese cloth to easily remove the cheese dessert from the mold! Katie spooned some of our garden strawberry preserves as topping, but you could also use sliced fresh strawberries (or any fav fruit) or chocolate drizzled on top.  Here’s the recipe: 1 cup Fromage Blanc, 1 T granulated sugar, 1 T heavy cream, 2 egg whites, beaten until stiff. Combine the cheese, sugar and cream. Fold in the egg whites. Spoon into your (butter muslin/cheese cloth) lined mold. Let set for 6-10 hours in the refrigerator. Gently pull up the butter muslin to remove the heart from the mold. Serve with fresh fruit, syrup or melted chocolate! YUM!

2 thoughts on “A Special Valentine’s Dessert

  1. My girls won’t freshen until March 19. I miss my goats milk. Have you ever made fromage blanc? I made some cheddar and colby last season and it was great, alittle dry but I’ll work on keeping the humidity up.

    • My ‘girls’ won’t freshen ’til April, but I am fortunate to have a dairy (Crooked Creek Dairy) right down the road. I use their milk when I crave home made cheese – I made fromage blanc with their milk…and for this Valentine dessert. I haven’t tried any hard/aged cheesemaking with my goat’s milk yet. Not too sure about creating a make-shift cheese cave for ripening.

Leave a Reply

