Awww…what was I thinking?

lionhead

Sunday morning I visited our local Armada Flea Market. Aside from seasonal farm fresh produce, ‘yard tag sale’ stuff (ya know – one man’s junk is another man’s treasure), occasional collectables and antiques, there’s also kittens, puppies, chickens and —– bunnies.

As I was leaving, I noticed this little furry thing, perhaps a chinchilla?? My fatal mistake was to allow myself to hold him when the ‘kind man’ handed him to me. YIKES! I was smitten. This little Lionhead bunny has the softest fur and the gentlest demeanor. I was HOOKED! What’s one more bunny? I don’t have a steely blue/gray one? He is little, and I have an empty hutch!??

Here’s some info I found on the Lionhead Rabbit’s website.

“Lionhead Rabbits are an exciting new rabbit! Even though they are a recognized breed in England, they are not yet a recognized breed with the American Rabbit Breeders Association (ARBA). Currently both Purebred and Hybrid Lionheads can be shown at ARBA shows under the Purposed Working Standard for the breed. They will have their first official showing with the ARBA in 2004. The American version of the Lionhead Rabbit will have erect ears and adults should remain under 3 3/4 pounds to be shown.

These little rabbits have a mane of wool encircling their head much like a male African Lion. (Both male & female Lionheads have a mane). Unlike other wool rabbit breeds, the Lionhead Rabbit has normal fur on the rest of their bodies. They are very friendly, easy to train and make excellent pets. Once they reach adulthood, they do not require the extensive grooming that some of the other wool breeds do.”

So, I’ll be working on a name for my latest addition to the barnyard menagerie!

Aside from my bunny episode, I want to mention that my friend Deb and I visited the Hadley Spinning Guild last Thursday. The guide membership is offered free to the community and meets once a month at the Metamora Public Library. Deb and I packed-up our spinning wheels and drove over to Metamora (about a 35 min drive from Armada/Allenton). We had a wonderful evening ‘sharing’ with this group of talented fiber artists!!!!! You can find out more about the guild at http://hadleyfiberartsguild.com

I also have a recipe to share – Gingersnaps! Gingersnaps are one of my family’s favorite cookies, especially this time of year with the molasses, ginger, cinnamon & cloves…just smells sooooo good while they’re baking in the oven. I usually serve them during my Holiday Open House (coming up November 13 & 14) and they’re, let’s say, much appreciated. gingersnaps

The recipe is quick and simple: 2 1/4 cups flour, 2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp ginger, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp salt 1 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup vegetable oil, 1/4 cup molasses, 1 egg. Optional: You’ll need a bit of granulated sugar to roll the cookie in before you place on the baking sheet. Sift together dry ingredients (flour, soda & spices) in a bowl. In another mixing bowl, add brown sugar, oil, molasses and egg — mix well. Add the flour/spices and beat well. Shape dough into 1″ balls (I use a spoon and roll in my hands) and roll in sugar if desired. Place 1 1/2 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 375 degrees F, 10 minutes. Makes about 4 dozen. Stores well, good dunkers too!

Enjoy! 

 

4 thoughts on “Awww…what was I thinking?

  1. I’ve never seen a bunny that looked more like a bunny slipper than that one. 🙂 If only he were pink… Seriously, he’s adorable.

    Ginger snaps (or crinkles) are a bit hit here, too. But this fall, we tried German Anise cookies…yum. And ended up calling them Spice Coins. You’re right. There’s just something about spice cookies when the temperatures drop. And they go soooo well with hot coffee.

Leave a Reply

