New Kids on the Block

Nelly's Oberhasli Doe Kids

Nelly's Oberhasli Doe Kids

A warm welcome to Nelly’s doe kids! The girls arrived Tuesday night – weighing in at 7 and 8 pounds. All are doing well. Holly’s Alpine kids expressed delight in their new playmates. Yeah! We’re done with kidding at Sheepy Hollow for 2009. Next up, sheep shearing scheduled for Monday, April 20. My two pregnant Shetland ewes are due to lamb soon, Polly, near the end of April and Tinkerbell, due near the end of May. So, stay tuned…

One Happy Kid Family

One Happy Kid Family

I was visiting my friend Rox at Hymnotes Farm and couldn’t resist checking out all her newborn kids and Shetland lambs. Two of her ewes, bred to my Testiamo, have lambed so far with two more ewes due this week…and I get the pick of the ‘litter’. So far, we have three beautiful chocolate lambs (one boy and two girls). Rox (and I) are bottle feeding our lambs to hopefully produce a very docile foundation flock…similar to our lovable dairy herd! Her lambs were delightful to ‘play’ with!

On another note, our dining room is progressing. We’ve completed the wainscot paneling installation, painted the ceiling and top half wall. The paint color I finally settled on is an earthy clay, since I love crocks and pottery and such. The paneling is purchased already primed and ready for paint. I’ve already done the cut-in in ‘Wicker’ (the same as the kitchen). I’ll provide another pic when the job is done. I’ll be glad to re-organize and clear out some clutter!

Progress in the dining room...

Progress in the dining room...

Last, I’d like to leave you with a recipe for a traditional ‘Poppyseed’ Cake that I baked for Easter. The recipe is from my mom which has been passed down to me. It’s VERY easy to make, especially when I use my Kitchen-Aid mixer with the dough hook to prepare the yeast dough.

In mixing bowl, add 4 cups flour, 3 tablespoons sugar & 1 teaspoon salt. Cut 1 cup (2 sticks) margarine into flour. To 1 cup lukewarm milk, dissolve/proof 1 package dry yeast with 1 tablespoon sugar. Add to hollow center of flour mixture. Beat 3 eggs and add to center. Mix to bring dough together. You may need to add additional 1/2 cup of flour until dough is smooth and velvety. Place dough in lightly greased bowl, cover with plastic and place in refrigerator overnight. Dough will double in size. Next day, turn out half of dough (makes 2 cakes) onto floured wood board and roll out 1/4 inch thick. Spread 1 can SOLO filling per each cake – I used almond and cherry this time. Roll up the cake starting at one end. Place on parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Repeat with remaining ‘half’ dough. Allow cake to rest for 30 minutes (cover with clean towel). Preheat oven to 350 and bake for approx 45 minutes until golden brown. Dust with powder sugar or drizzle with lemon juice/powder sugar glaze. Enjoy!

 poppyseed-cake

One thought on “New Kids on the Block

Leave a Reply

