Tea and Scones Anyone?

A pretty little tea cozy.

A pretty little tea cozy.

Here is a pic of my latest fiber project. It’s a cheery little wool felted tea cozy…that would look pretty on your table keeping your pot of tea nice and warm. And, naturally it’s embellished with a needle felted sheep. You know how I love my sheepies! Did you notice the little ‘dangler’ ? It’s also a needle felted miniature tea pot. So, I had to make some scones this rainy/snowy morning. Here’s my fav recipe (makes one dozen) that’s very quick and easy to assemble. You can add any spice, herbs, dried fruits, etc to make them sweet or savory. Today I added dried cherries and topped with sugar and cinnamon. You’ll bake them on an ungreased cookie sheet at 400 degrees F for 20 minutes.  In a mixing bowl, sift together 2 1/2 cups flour, 1/4 cup sugar, 1 Tablespoon baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt. Cut in 1 stick (1/2 cup) chilled butter. Add 1/2 cup dried cherries (nuts, dried fruits, etc). Beat 1 egg and add 3/4 cup buttermilk – I use my ‘reserved’ whey from my goats’ cheese. Add to the flour mixture and fold in gently. Turn onto bread board and work just enough to bring together. Shape into rectangle and cut into approx. 12 wedges. Transfer onto baking sheet and bake 20 minutes. Serve warm with jam. YUM!

Wooly Sheep Pillow

Wooly Sheep Pillow

Here’s a hand-felted wool pillow that I just completed as well. I told you I never tire of making my sheepies! Notice the little wooly pom poms attached to the four corners and the little 3-D ear. The ‘WOOL’ is needle felted – not stitched. I usually  fill them with a dried herbal mix from the farm, so it smells really good too! I make a lot of sheepy pillows and sachets for the shop. I’m working on several other fiber project in different stages of completion…my paperwork is starting to pile up! UGH!

2 thoughts on “Tea and Scones Anyone?

Leave a Reply

